Boards of the Foundation

Executive Board

The Executive Board of the Federal Chancellor Willy Brandt Foundation consists of three members who are appointed by the Board of Trustees for terms of four years. They guide the tasks of the Foundation and carry out decisions of the Board of Trustees. A full-time Executive Director assists the Board in carrying out his current responsibilities.
Members of the sixth Executive Board (term Oct. 2015 - Oct. 2019) are:

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schöler (chairman)
Prof. Dr. Dieter Dowe
Prof. Dr. Axel Schildt

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees of the Foundation consists of five members who are appointed by the Federal President of the Federal Republic of Germany for a term of five years. The Board appoints the members of the Executive Board and decides all fundamental questions which concern the Foundation's functions. On October 8, 2015, Federal President Joachim Gauck appointed the members of the fifth Board of Trustees (serving 2015-2020).
Members of the 5th Board of Trustees are:

President (ret.) of the German Bundestag Dr. h. c. Wolfgang Thierse (chairman)
   Alternate: Federal Minister (ret.) Gerd Walter
Undersecretary of State (ret.) Dr. Jürgen Burckhardt (vice-chairman)
   Alternate: Prof. Dr. Friedhelm Boll
Prof. Dr. Brigitte Seebacher
   Alternate: Harry Scholz M.A.
Prof. Dr. Peter Brandt
   Alternate: Prof. Dr. Dr. Franz-Joseph Brüggemeier
Minister President (ret.) Dr. Bernhard Vogel
   Alternate: Ruprecht Polenz

International Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Hélène Miard-Delacroix, Sorbonne University, Paris (chairwoman)
Prof. Dr. Michele Barricelli, University of Hanover
Prof. Rainer Burchardt, University of Kiel
Prof. Dr. Eckart Conze, University of Marburg
Prof. Dr. Rainer Eckert, Director, Forum of Contemporary History, Leipzig           
Prof. Dr. Mary Fulbrook, University College, London           
Prof. Dr. Einhart Lorenz, University of Oslo
Prof. Dr. Angelika Menne-Haritz, Berlin          
Prof. Dr. Dirk Messner, Director of the German Development Institute, Bonn
Prof. Dr. Kiran Patel, University of Maastricht          
Prof. Dr. Krzysztof Ruchniewicz, University of Wroclaw           
Prof. Dr. Martin Sabrow, Director, Centre for Contemporary History, Potsdam
Prof. Dr. Mary Elise Sarotte, University of Southern California
Prof. Dr. Dietmar Süß, University of Augsburg

The President of the Board of Governors, Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schöler
Federal President Christian Wulff appointed the members of the fourth Board of Trustees, October 2011
Members of the International Advisory Board at their annual meeting in the Willy-Brandt-Haus Lübeck, 2015.