Willy Brandt Prize for Contemporary History

Every two years the Federal Chancellor Willy Brandt Foundation awards the Willy Brandt Prize for Contemporary History.

Outstanding academic papers, dissertations or habilitations on the work and legacy of Willy Brandt or on a specific chapter of contemporary history linked to Brandt are taken into consideration. The work shall not be older than two years but can already be published. Dissertations and habilitations must have been accepted by the respective faculty at the time of submission. The work has to be written in German or English.

The foundation will cover the printing costs of the winning publication to a reasonable extent. Additionally the publication within the „Willy-Brandt-Studies“ can be offered to the awardee.
You can find the Statute of the Willy Brandt Prize here (in German only).

The closing date for the Willy Brandt Prize for Contemporary History 2017 has passed.

List of previous awardees:

  • Willy-Brandt-Preis 2015: Kristina Meyer
    Die SPD und die NS-Vergangenheit 1945-1990, Göttingen: Wallstein-Verlag 2015 (Beiträge zur Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts; 18)
  • Willy Brandt Prize 2013: has not been awarded
  • Willy Brandt Prize 2011: Claudia Hiepel
    Willy Brandt und Georges Pompidou: Deutsch-französische Europapolitik zwischen Aufbruch und Krise, München: Oldenbourg 2012 (Studien zur Internationalen Geschichte; 29)
  • Willy Brandt Prize 2009: Petri Hakkarainen
    A State of Peace in Europe. West Germany and the CSCE, 1966-1975, New York, Oxford: Berghahn Books 2011
  • Willy Brandt Prize 2007: Robin M. Allers
    Besondere Beziehungen. Deutschland, Norwegen und Europa in der Ära Brandt (1966-1974), Bonn: Dietz 2009 (Willy-Brandt-Studien; 2)
  • Willy Brandt Prize 2005: Daniel Friedrich Sturm
    Uneinig in die Einheit. Die Sozialdemokratie und die Vereinigung Deutschlands 1989/90, Bonn: Dietz 2006 (Willy-Brandt-Studien; 1)
Dr. Kristina Meyer, prize winner 2015
The study of Claudia Hiepel, prize winner of 2011, has now been translated into French.
Petri Hakkarainen, prize winner of 2009, published his study at Berghahn Books.